just be

By justbe

Ruby throat on display

This fellow is very protective of all five hummingbird feeders we have available around the garden. The others trying to get a sip have to fight his aerial acrobatics and the yellow jackets that hang on to the feeders at the end of the season. I took this through the kitchen window with my 300mm.Our crop of hummers this summer are quite shy. I think being away in July, or all the rain keeping us inside, makes it harder for them to get used to me and my cameras. Years ago, when I was first blipping, I had several of seasons with a very photogenic and tame fellow(Sharpie) who let me photograph his magnificence at close range. 

Hummingbird info

For the Record,
This day came in sunny, cool and just perfect.

All hands looking forward to the long Labor Day weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.