Ted3

By Ted3

Fairy ring mushroom (Marasmius oredeas)

A piece of turf, a garden back drop, a table with adequate leg room for me and wheel chair a camera and sufficient imagination and skill to recreate this natural looking shot.
I have for many years picked, sold and ate these mushrooms. They are among my favourite to eat, being nutty in flavour.
Among my customers was Raymond Blanc, Chef & Patron of Le Manoir aux Quat Saison. in Oxfordshire. Who would order 20-30kg at a time. Hand picked by me and my team of foragers, from around the home Counties. Now im going back to around the noughties when i could still walk & drive, then i charged £30/kg, Lord knows what that price might be today.
Be advised. Never pick wild mushrooms until you are sure of their Identity.
A very good book by roger Phillips. Mushrooms. A must have book for I.D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.