Missycat

By Missycat

A beautiful tribute

Today, the first of a new month was the occasion of another funeral, this time that of my sister-in-law's mother, C.  My s-in-l and her brother have lost both parents in the space of one year, an awful time for them both.  There were many tears shed of course, but there was some laughter as memories flowed and it was wonderful to hear from C's younger brothers tales of when they were young boys cared for often by C, some eight years older as their mother was widowed young. I last saw C  a year ago when we said goodbye to her husband and as always, despite her own frailty, she was resilient and dignified.  I will always remember C and A joining us for many a festive occasion over the years, always fun, taking full part in the proceedings and even dressing up when required.  Our own family will miss them greatly, kind, gentle loving people with a great zest for life.

My blip today does happen to be flowers, beautiful flowers taken from the wonderful floral display made by a family friend for the coffin.  After the funeral he managed to create many little baskets of these beautiful cottage  garden themed flowers so that each of us could take them home.  I'm afraid that I have not photographed them as well as I might as we were not home until dusk and the light was poor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.