soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

Wonderful sunflower

A friend recently sent me some photos of a field of sunflowers in Dorset - all doing what they are famous for - which is facing the same way, with their beautiful flowers tilted up to the sun. It makes a wonderful sight, which I would love to see in the real world. But it’s also true that each and every flower is amazing in its own right - because of the pattern of the seeds. I’ve been looking this up - and found references to the Fibonacci sequence, the golden ratio, spiral arms, and divine proportion. I have to say I don’t quite understand all that I read, but I do know I get great pleasure from looking at the curved shapes made by the seeds.
A nice day, I had lunch at an outside table with my friend M at a nearby Italian cafe. And I watched an interesting film online called My Extinction, whereby a rather cynical film director starts to make a film about Extinction Rebellion but ends up becoming a committed supporter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.