Feorlean

By feorlean

Night lights in Rothesay

I am spending the night here because of the Barid of Bute events which started with a civic reception this evening in the Discovery Centre (the building illuminated in purple) and which included the annual dinner at which Professor Sir David MacMillan , the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize for Chemistry and David MacKay, Virgin Gaelic's Chief Pilot and the first Scot in space received the annual awards (as seem in my extra photos) 

The Society, presided over by the remarkable and determined Chris Markwell and his wife Hazel ,(and which I have blipped several times before)  couldn't hold events in 2020, 2021 and 2022 and I had missed the 2019 celebrations because I was at the British Irish Association Annual Conference.  

As the first Trustee appointed by Chris something like a decade ago I had agreed much earlier this year that I would attend and I am looking forward to tomorrow's aviation meet at what was the Kingarth lands trip but is now the Barid Airfield ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.