WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Rainy day blip

What a miserable day -- it's been pouring virtually all morning. So I decided to see it as an opportunity for an indoor blip. In April, I blipped the avenue of plane trees leading into the village, and mentioned that we have a watercolour of this view hanging on our wall. I've intended to blip it for a while, so this was an ideal opportunity to get out the tripod and the polarising filter (to cut out reflections off the glass). Due to my limited tripod skills, I also got to use the keystone distortion tools in Photoshop to straighten it up. As you can see, my photo of the view did not capture the impressionist feel of the painting!

The painting is by local artist Rosemary Constantin. I find her style a bit unusual, not as literal as most people's (we have seen dozens of watercolours of our house thanks to it being a popular subject at the journée des peintres). I loved her painting as soon as I saw it, so I bought it on the spot and it's been on the wall ever since. It's hard to find any information on her work on the web, but she does exhibit locally from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.