pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A(nother) busy Saturday!

If you read yesterday's blip, which came to you straight from the edge of the North sea, you will know our plan was to camp out on Cromer beach. And that is what we did! Mollie joined us for a while, until it was too dark to see, and too cold not to be inside our tent. She was Henry's driver, as he had a night out with friends.

We got into our tent, and in our sleeping bags, as the wind had turned really quite cold. We had head torches and read until about 9.30, then tried to go to sleep. I did manage to sleep on and off, and so did Jon. But it was more of a slope than we had realised and it was difficult to sleep at an angle.

I woke when I thought there was a bit of light, and hurriedly opened the flap so that I could see the sun rise. It already, at 5.30 looked to be the start of a beautiful day. At 6 I was fully awake, and took some photos to share on Facebook.

We slowly gathered ourselves together, and packed up. All our stuff safely in the car boot, we decided to walk from one side of Cromer to McDonald's on the other side, for breakfast. Getting a few thousand steps in! We enjoyed porridge for breakfast, then walked back to the car, and arrived home just before 9.

Then a regular day of jobs ensued. A few loads of washing, plus bed sheets changed. We had coffee once Henry had surfaced, and discussed our jobs! I was desperate to cut back my honeysuckle/nettle/bindweed in front of the greenhouse (bottom right and then middle). I hope to eventually move the greenhouse, so this is start of the prep for that. Meanwhile Jon re-felted the summerhouse as we are still getting rained on when working in there. Henry helped him. After lunch, I sat with Mollie to help with some lesson plans, while Jon cleared weeds from behind the summerhouse. Then we went out for a nice long walk around the village and out along footpaths that took us through fields to the north west (I think) of the village.

Mollie cooked fajitas for tea, while I did more weeding at the side. I hope to finish that tomorrow.

Heading for a hot bath, and early night, to catch up on my lost sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.