MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Ivy Visitors 3

The top of the ivy league today, the central image, is a green lacewing fly larva. It is minute. I thought at first that it was a piece of dust. I prodded it with a grass stem and it moved. Green lacewing larvae have been gathering debris to camouflage and protect themselves for about 130 million years. I've photographed these once before and chose it for the top spot as it's the most unusual and interesting.

I got two different species of harvestman, arachnids but not spiders. One of them has lost a leg and is oozing brown 'blood'. I have seen the fly top right a few times in recent days. I'm taken with it. I call Graphomya maculata the spotty bottom fly. The brown bug looks like a dock shieldbug but is actually the much rarer box bug. The diadem spider has just caught a bluebottle and is wrapping it in silk for later. I've also included a green shieldbug, a greenbottle fly and a footballer hoverfly.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.