Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Flowerbed revisited

JR, after gym and breakfast, took Archie out for a walk, then went into town in the afternoon, and kindly bought me flight socks and seasickness pills for our trip to Robben Island, as Hazel told us it could be very rough. Getting organised...

I decided to tackle the lights in the kitchen, two of them, as they are quite disconcerting. They work for ages, and you forget about them, then you suddenly think you're having some sort of seizure - flashing lights. They always caught me out. Not nice. I replaced the one using the big ladder, but the one over the sink required the small steps and JR had to do that one. They're not the easiest things to deal with...

I watched a bit of the cricket (England v New Zealand) and took Archie out to the graveyard. The little garden of wildflowers that JR took a photo of a weeks or so ago, was still there, looking pretty. Archie patiently posed (in a handy wee dip ideal for a dog to sit) while I fiddled around this way and that. A passerby stopped to watch the scene, and then commented on how obliging Archie was.

And then we met Archie's hero - Big Hamish! Such excitement and crying - Archie not Hamish -  we walked home with them.

The new sandals that I declared were comfortable... well, the jury's out. After two days wearing them, and 1,000s of steps, my toes were sore. Perhaps in my excitement, I overdid it. I'll give them another go tomorrow.

Looks like the whole country is to have some warm, sunny, dry weather in 2023 at last!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.