Arachne

By Arachne

'Festival' day 1

Bunkfest is a free festival in Wallingford, about 40 minutes' bus ride from me, happening this weekend. I went for the first time last year and loved it so Bunkfest 2023 has been in my diary for months. Bonus: the forecast for this weekend is glorious. So what was the absolute priority in my mind when I woke up this morning? Yup, sorting out the big pile of planks on the hall floor and putting up shelving in the utility room.

So that is what I did. Worked out the optimum usage of the many ex-shelves I have for the spaces needing shelves in this house, then put up this shelving system in the laundry. And when I'd done that I decided to see whether I could fit a bit of work surface left over from the kitchen. It just happens to be 1640mm long and the back wall of the laundry just happens to be 1640mm. It was mighty heavy to lift and fiendish to manoeuvre into the space (because there is a bulky bit of boxing in to the right of this picture from when the architect miscalculated the size of some ducting). Anyway, I got it there then discovered that it was such an exact fit that there was not enough leeway to get it flat from its slope here. I tried balancing it in the middle and sitting on the high end, I tried bashing it with a mallet, I tried removing some of the plaster from the wall. 

I gave up at 1am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.