Arachne

By Arachne

'Festival' day 2

Day two of Bunkfest but while others were enjoying the music in the sun I stayed at home with the bench conundrum, eventually solved by precariously sawing 5mm off one end in situ. (The unnecessary and annoying ducting column that stopped me getting the bench in horizontal yesterday, is visible just beyond the sink.)

I don't have a very good 3D imagination so although I can draw shelf layouts and more-or-less decide what I want, I can't tell how a job will go until I am immersed in it so I often change things as I go. I realised today that I should have put the bench supports in place before I moved it to where I wanted it (but I moved it to see how it would look, not certain that I would keep it there). I managed to retrofit the supports and add a leg to the front right where the wall is too full of utilities for me to be able to drill into it to fit a support.

The blue crate on the shelf is immediately below the hole in the bathroom floor for chucking dirty laundry into - although it was something I asked for it's taken me ages to work out how it would work in practice.

The reclaimed sink is not yet plumbed in (nor does it yet have a fitted bench support but I might manage that better after this weekend's experience - half a bench is already balanced there and I do have another piece) but I was thrilled to bits to realise there was space for my tool-rack.

I still have a lot of sorting and tidying to do, but already the kitchen is looking much more usable now that the piles of unfindable things have moved here and become more findable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.