Living my dream

By Mima

Keeping an eye on the worker

It does irritate me when I realise that a job on my to do list can’t be done until I’ve completed another unlisted task.

So it was that I grumbled my way round the raspberry canes this afternoon, hand weeding grass and nettles. This was something I’d not noticed needed to be done before I could spread compost between the canes and water it in. 

And yes, at the end of the afternoon I wrote the unlisted weeding on the to do list, then immediately ticked it off with satisfaction. I have a feeling I’m not alone in this idiosyncratic behaviour.

The supervisor was askance when I stopped for a drink of water. I made it a hasty break and got back to work. Bean went back to sleep, evidently reassured that I was hard at it. 

An hour or so later she came and sat on the weeds I was about to pull out; presumably to remind me that we had yet to go for a walk. 

Incidentally, behind Bean is one of the many pieces of iron that I have dug out of the ground around the property. The former coal mine and the former railway cattle yards aren’t far away and this is all detritus from the early 20th Century industry of the village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.