Marionb

By Marionb

To the Movies...

After a day of feeling quite under the weather..and having a nap as a result, my friend Elaine and I headed for the movies...this time to see Barbie..me really looking forward to it, Elaine feeling hesitant and unsure, but agreeing to give it a try...

I did enjoy it - it was fun, but I realized just how old I am when I was not familiar with all the professional Barbies and accessories...and the different versions of Ken! My daughter is 56 now and her Barbies were the stereotypical ones if I remember right...SO ..if I had trouble with Barbie nostalgia, Elaine would have been totally out to lunch about all that merchandise as she did not have children...She did seem to enjoy it though..no rave reviews from her, but she did seem to like it...

The Going to the Cinema experience sure has changed over my lifetime...I remember the movies as a kid - rows of rather uncomfortable seats, but it cost only pennies to get in, and they showed two movies and cartoons with an intermission!  We now take for granted the huge leather-like reclining lounge seats, the adult-only showings, the beer and wine.  

This time Elaine and I chose the "premier" seats for two..where the reclining seats are heated and there is a side table, a storage bin under it for your purse etc..and a coat hanger!  If the movie is boring, you at least have a comfortable place to nap! 

The disappointment of my day was that my one-day Prime delivery from Amazon did not arrive...so I am still sprinkler-deprived and my garden is withering as I write. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.