Marionb

By Marionb

Guess Who Came To Dinner...

Yes..it was Chippy! ....and I thought I had only one chipmunk here in Whitby, but..quel surpris..while Chippy was munching at the feeder, I saw another little chipmunk clasping to a branch in the tree watching how he did it! Taking note, I expect....

The number of guests at my feeders seems to be increasing now that autumn is in the air. The occasional hummingbird drops by en route south...which is neat...but so do flocks of what I think are grackles! They land en masse and scare the more colourful birds away..It is interesting to see how the other birds all seem to get along..sharing the perches and taking turns...it's like they all know each other now, but that is not the case with the bully grackles! To me, they are the bad guys..they hog the perches and snap at the other birds who try to land; I do wish they would move on...but then I feel guilty about thinking that way...Is that really fair to judge them like that? Are they aggressive by nature or do these ones just have a personality disorder?

Today's blip is obviously all about birds, but that's where the action was today.. and perhaps a result of my new plan to put a chair on the front doorstep, so I can have my morning coffee in the sun and watch the feeders out there ..with of course, camera on hand...

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.