Marionb

By Marionb

Changeover..

Labour Day! The last day before school starts here...a day many consider the last day of summer. For me, it is a day of being grateful for retirement...for not having to go back to work! 

As a teacher, a new school year was always exciting and filled with anticipation but always stressful too. It meant going back to lesson plans and marking and coaching and not having much time to myself...I loved my teaching career and my students, but there is a time for everything and I am absolutely enjoying this stage of my life and the freedom of retirement! And I do love Labour Day! It reminds me of how lucky I am!

So I spent Labour Day not preparing lessons, but digging up weeds and transplanting some lilies in the garden..and then, as this heat wave is still hanging on, I gave up on that and retreated into air conditioning to find things to do indoors....

The perfect indoor activity was to change the quilt on my living room wall..which means choosing one from my quilt stash that fits the upcoming season and then digging out pillow shams and little decor items that co-ordinate...or at least blend with the new colour scheme...everything must co-ordinate, nest-ce pas?  

So today? The quilt I chose is one of my favourites - a Kaffe Fassett design - one which I made when taking a workshop from him a few years ago... He is the one who suggested the lime and orange fabric in the border...I never would have even considered it, but he knows his colours and I trusted him...and it sure did punch up the quilt.. like yes, it definitely did!  My challenge now is  trying to colour co-ordinate the living room with it! Yikes...Methinks that all I really need is a little dash of red, coral or even orange..and I am sure I have something like that hidden away somewhere in this house....Let the search begin...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.