Marionb

By Marionb

And Then the Rains Came...

and scared away all that heat and humidity! Relief! At last! 

I had spent the last three days of this heat wave indoors, comfortably, in AC. Today was my day to travel north to the cottage and to have to function in that heat to do all that that entails almost did me in! It was like a sauna out there, every chore was a physical challenge, and my body was not prepared for it! But I made it....

What had kept me going all day was the thought of jumping into the lake  - into that cool refreshing water, and here I was, at last, perishables safely stashed in the fridge, ready for that swim....but alas...just as I was about to do that, the phone rang. It was the electricians who were to finish the wiring to our new hot water tank..and whose arrival we have been patiently awaiting....Well, today of all days, they just happened to be working near our cottage and had time now to pop in to do said job...Drat! The swim would have to wait...

At last they left and I did get my swim..as well as a short rest under the  sun umbrella, in the still sweltering heat, contemplating another jump in the lake, when out of nowhere - the rains came! In sheets! While the sun was still shining! ( extra - note the shadows) Could it be that there is such a thing as a "flash shower"? You know, like a flash flood? It came and it went ...in minutes..and in its wake? Cool air! Just like that!  Magic!  End of heat wave...Who would have thunk! 

Fauna report: The loon swam right by me while I was on the dock - camera-less! No telephoto would have been required... Geez..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.