RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Hummingbird Close-up

We were having breakfast out while the complex was fumigated. The small restaurant, Las Adelitas, has a nice garden patio with three tables, tons of plants and more than a few hummingbirds. Our hummingbird feeder at the apartment has been busy the past weeks, but the birds that frequent it seem very shy. Whenever I pull my camera out to get a photo, they flit away only to return after I have gotten bored and once again put my camera down. When I reach for it, off they fly again. The birds at this location couldn't care less about me or my camera with its long telephoto and I was able to happily snap photos to my heart's content. This is a really tight crop from an otherwise ordinary capture. Even as such extreme magnification, the detail in the head is amazing. If I would have bumped up the ISO and shot at a faster shutter speed I might have captured sharp wings as well, but I like the feeling of energy they convey being blurred.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.