Salvation - Seventies Style

Do you remember the Seventies? No? Well, do you remember those "I Heart 1976" shows that were so popular? Weren't they great? Space-hoppers and space-dust and Spangles and clackers and Scalextric and beige cars?

And Jesus.


Thanks so much for all the comments and even hearts for my holiday blips. Can you imagine how foolish I felt when we got to Skiathos and I realised that I had forgotten my camera? Luckily, I did have pencil and paper and so was able to carry on blipping (I put each finished picture into a bottle accompanied by a plea to "Please post this onto the interwebs" and, amazingly, they all made it).


Here are a few replies to your comments:
Yes, Skiathos is great!
Yes, the woman on the 1st of June does seem to be carrying ET!
Yes, they've all got tottie in them - that's the whole point of being an artist - in return for wearing a beret and smoking a gauloise, you have an excuse to stare at tottie all day!
Yes, they are ALL SPs!
Yes, I couldn't hold down the cage-dancing gig because of the bad knee (which is slowly getting better!
Yes, Mrs NickMog wants me to make it clear that she is not the model for Miss Tuesday. (But she is Mrs Wednesday!)
Yes, Blairpb is quite right, I seem to be channelling Winnie the Pooh illustrator, E.H. Shepard. Albeit E.H. Shepard when he was depicting the futility of all existence (so Eeyore, then).

It was fun to do these. I've carried around a sketchbook for a while now, but never got around to trying anything. The first couple were rather tentative, then I got a bit bolder (and bought a rubber). The final one was my favourite because it was so simple - I did it in as few pencil strokes as possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.