gennepher

By gennepher

Rose

I wanted to know after yesterday with the the problems I had with the speed limit unpredictable variability in Wales at the moment.
How does sat nav know the speed limit?

So I googled.
"Speed limit information (SLI) systems inform the driver of the current speed limit by displaying it on the dashboard and/or navigation system. SLI uses cameras to recognise road signs or use speed-limit data from the navigation system."

Now the reason I ask this, is the where the 20mph sign has been taken completely down on one side of the road at one school, the speed limit on my sat nav is 30mph. But coming back on the same road, the 20 mph sign remains, and for that side of the road, my sat nav still shows the speed limit at 20mph.

This suggests to me that my car uses cameras or some such to recognise the speed limits from road signs actually on the road for its built in sat nav.

So all this removal, willy nilly at random, of the 20mph road signs pre the 20mph day of 17 Sept in Wales was a dangerous thing to do, especially outside schools. And also totally unnecessary because according to what I have read, the councils have something like 3 to 5 years to remove the unnecessary/surplus 20 mph signs which are outside schools etc. That does not have to be done yet. And the upshot of doing that action has meant traffic now drives past schools at 30 mph (because that is what their sat nav now shows the current speed limit is there) where there are no 20mph signs now, and I get impatient drivers beeping me and tailgating and overtaking me for doing 20mph past schools where there is now an absence of 20mph signs.

I have been googling how to put the speed limit warnings on google maps on my phone. Just set it up. Now I need to fix it to my dashboard (before I go out next) so I can see it easily when I am driving. Whatever system my phone uses to gauge the current speed limits, it will not be dependent on car cameras reading road signs...and I can see if the two different systems corroborate each other or not where the 20mph road signs have been removed.

Sorry, but this is really bugging me...


Wildlife camera
Badgers grooming each other
15 seconds
https://youtube.com/shorts/uyaC34Guzjk?si=5ZvfhIs65TwE0xYe


Creative is a photo of a beautifully scented rose in my garden...

Have a good day

Time for a cuppa coffee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.