Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

I TRICKED MY BRAIN...

... which is not too difficult to do!  Even if my right leg doesn’t cause me too much pain during the day, I have noticed that in the evening, even if I have rested well, the pain ramps up and before I go to bed, I can be at screaming pitch with it.  I never know whether to leave taking my painkillers until just before bed time or whether to take them every four hours regardless - reminds me a bit of when our boys were babies and we used to leave feeding them until midnight, in the hope that we would get a good night’s sleep and they would go longer than four hours before their next feed - but that never worked either!! ;-) 

Last night was no different and the pain was very bad, but I did drop off to sleep in the chair - Mr. HCB said that he was loathe to wake me, but we wanted to break the cycle of me sleeping downstairs, so he did, after the News finished just before 11 o’clock.  I was very woozy, having taken the rest of my medication, and could hardly walk up the stairs, so Mr. HCB walked up behind me to make sure I didn’t fall.

I had intended having a shower before bed, but was too sleepy for that, so after the usual bathroom palaver, I went into the bedroom and got into bed - Mr. HCB is still sleeping in our spare room, so after he had finished in the bathroom, he came in to say goodnight and went to switch off my bedside light.  I told him not to and said I had decided to try and trick my brain because the pain always felt much worse in the dark and in the wee small hours.  Being the kind person he is, he never pooh-poohed the idea and believe it or not, it worked!  

I only woke once to use the bathroom at 2.10 and then slept again until 5.45, which was amazing - which meant I slept from just after 11 o’clock until 5.45 - one of my lovely friends said that she would be praying I got 6 hours sleep and I did.  Tonight, I am going to take one of our lights that are charged via a USB port and leave that on all night to see if it works again.

Thank you to all my Blip friends and others who have prayed, sent messages, cards, good wishes, given stars and hearts and been generally wonderful during this difficult time.  You are all angels in disguise and I am so grateful to be part of this wonderful community.  The end is in sight - and I hope to be back commenting before too much longer.  

This is obviously the lamp that helped to trick my brain and I thought it deserved its 15 minutes of fame on Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.