suehutton

By suehutton

Squirrel in the Mist

Truly the season of mists. Leaves are beginning to turn, seeds are beginning to fall, the pears are ripening and squirrels turn to foraging to boost their winter food store.

When I woke at 7.30 this morning, the light coming through the curtains was not bright but diffuse. Could it be that it was misty? It was. I rushed, as far as I can rush, to fetch a camera as it's so long since I've seen a decent mist. If I had been able, I would have gone to the woods. But as luck would have it, a young squirrel was perched on the fence and stayed there while I readied the camera.

I had pity on him. I didn't let Basil out to chase him.

Have you noticed how resplendently red the hawthorn bushes with masses of berries?

To Ashby today for podiatry and removal of a particularly excruciating painful corn, followed by a decent breakfast at A Moment in Thyme. Basil ate the black pudding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.