MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Speke Hall

It was too hot to do anything like gardening or housework so I decided to pop to Speke Hall (National Trust). Knowing the house is closed Monday and Tuesday I hoped it wouldn't be too busy for walking in the grounds and woodland etc. It wasn't thronged, thankfully.
On the way there I thought I'd do the airport adventure lab cache (these have 5 stages you need to visit to get questions which you then need to answer correctly to "find" the stages and the info for each answer is usually found at each stage. I parked up by the church (see one of extras) on Hale Rd near its junction with Speke Church Rd and walked a few yards to Speke Hall Av when I thought to open the app before walking the rest of the half mile to stage 1. Ping! Up popped stage 1 question which was very easy to answer and then up popped the rest of the stages, one after the other and I answered them all from where I was standing, having not had to walk another step! This would have been seriously disappointing if I'd gone solely for this lab cache but fortunately I hadn't. Off back to the car and drove to Speke Hall where I had some lovely walks.
I walked up the higher path known as The Bund and did a bit of plane spotting as you get a good view of many planes coming in to land. Near the end of this upper path a fly flew into my mouth and stuck to my tongue! I spat it out but for the rest of my walk I made sure my mouth was fully closed!
Headed into the woodland and walked from there through the kids' trail (I love it) then headed to the coastal path but didn't venture far on that due to mud and having left my walking boots in the car.
See another extra for a plane spotting photo.
By lunchtime I was thirsty and headed for the cafe but then as it was baking hot and I was sweating cobs despite the UV brolly, decided to head for home and call at Costa on the way. Arrived home without calling for coffee and had a bit of a late lunch.
Passing the temperature gauge, some time in the afternoon, I noticed it was 29.5C in the shade of our back garden. 
Another extra is of the new pen Terry made today while I was gallivanting (he can't walk far due to being on a long wait for a hip replacement), hence why I went alone to Speke Hall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.