Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Brimstone

We had a nice few hours at WWT Martin Mere today. It was good to be able to escape the heat and sun and shelter in the various hides and a lot of the walking was in the shade too which we enjoyed. 
Unfortunately the birds were a bit distant today and after spending nearly an hour in one of the new hides trying (and failing miserably) to get a dragonfly in flight shot, we gave up and went for a late lunch at a nearby pub. 
On the way back to the car I spotted this Brimstone feeding on what looks like purple loosestrife. In the past I've only ever got the traditional side on shot of a brimstone(extra), but a lucky sequence enabled me to get this one in a more interesting pose which I quite liked. 

Back at home, I harvested yet more of our tomatoes and made some tomato soup for the freezer.  We still have quite a few more yet to ripen so I think we'll have plenty of lunches for the winter this year :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.