Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

NO cards in War Time.

Grandad Joe Berwick died, I think, 6th June 1940, unverified.  I can't remember, and can't ask Alice, roughly when we discovered these letters.  One thing "we" inherited was a small Cabinet; which escaped in my "Older than me" Blip series though it may YET show face.
     Inside were/are five shelves with Cutlery etc. on.  NO idea where they went; it now contains one of a pair of 6-piece  Place Settings, never used in the last 51 years. The letters?  As I said, can't remember when we first found them but they were beneath, and consequently unseen below the bottom drawer, from which we could remove the "K F S" without removing the Drawer. 
     I wonder how many of "us" can still write any thing LIKE the "B" who wrote this one.
     Two WEIRD coincidences?  
1. Though all were neat and legible, only two had any crossed out mistake but this one was the first, and neatest, I saw.
2. I counted 13 of them - I was always told "13's a lucky number for t'Berwicks."  I once asked Mam for "a Tanner for 1/2 a Dozen Eggs."  She replied " Take a Bob and get a Dozen.  The "Tanner" was for a raffle Ticket at School.  I won the 1/2 Dozen eggs; would you care to guess what number Ticket I got?

Evidently somebody wanted all the stamps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.