Colstro

By Colstro

Sculpture

It was a warm, sunny day today and I took the opportunity to go into London - the first time for many weeks.  The focus of my visit was the "Eyes of the Storm" exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery:  photographs by Paul McCartney taken during the early days of the Beatles, 1963-64.  It was a good and enjoyable exhibition, if a little expensive to get in (no discounts for pensioners and no 2for1 offers for rail travellers any more).  I appreciate that it must be very expensive to put on such an exhibition, and the gallery needs funds just to keep running and to pay for its recent modifications and refurbishment, but I may be visiting a little less frequently than I used to.

Afterwards I spent time doing what I always enjoy:  wandering randomly through the streets of London, finding streets and alleyways that I haven't visited before (and there are still many more of those left), taking occasional photographs as I went.

So when I got home, I had a choice of photographs to blip - the first time for quite a while.  I could have given you a scene at Trafalgar Square, or the interior of St Martin-in-the-Fields, or a discussion over coffee in the cafe in the crypt under St Martin-in-the-Fields, or the interior of Corpus Christi church in Maiden Lane, or street entertainers at Covent Garden, or external architectural shots, or even a Thames Barge sailing under the open Tower Bridge.  However, I will stick with the original concept of Blipfoto - to choose just one image to represent the day, and I have chosen a rather abstract image of a sculpure in the Artists' Garden on the Embankment above Temple station.  It is called "Slackwater" and is by Holly Hendry.  It is made from industrial scale ducting and is rather large.  I have concentrated on just a detail from one part of the installation.

Probably back to emergency blips tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.