West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Tioga B

It has been a warm day, bright sunshine with little breeze to cool anyone sitting out in the sun. I am not one for sitting out but this morning I cleaned out the car and washed it, the job done I decided that I would take my book and retire to the garden to read for a while. I spend so much time reading for university that come the end of the exam diet I do like to read for pleasure.

My friend recently shared a love for a book that I had never read, indeed I had never read any of his books; my friend is on the third copy of the tome in question so often has she re-read it... I was delighted when I was gifted a copy, it arrived and I duly dived in. I read the first few pages and was instantly hooked, I could tell that I was going to enjoy this book as much as my friend. I am normally a quick reader but for once I have taken my time, reading slowly, savouring the prose, enveloping myself in the world of the characters, it is beautiful to take the time to read properly and not skim, to enjoy the shapes of the words and the imagery created by an author skilled at grabbing the reader completely.

The twins were at their skating club and I loaded them into the car and placed by book carefully on the passenger seat ready to enjoy an hour or so in the company of the characters I had come to know.

I needed a Blip and the camera too was safely stowed as we set off, the twins were delivered to the rink, skates tied and of they set to warm up with the rest of the club members. it is too cold to sit rink side and it was too hot to sit upstairs under the glass walled frontage of the building. I returned to the car and reluctantly placed my book on the passenger seat and set off to the river to walk.

I only walked a short distance and could see this little tug making way in a large circle just off the berth at the container terminal, as I watched I could see that she has a creeper line over the stern and appeared to be trawling to retrieve something the deckhand peering over the rail onto the darkness of the river as if hoping for a glimpse of his quarry. Their efforts appeared fruitless as they put in and I walked on.

It was nice to wander along the river watching the people enjoy an ice-cream or a cooling drink, families, dog walkers, young an old searching for a little onshore breeze to temper the heat of the day. All too soon I have to I had to turn back, leaving our river and to collect the twins. they had had fun and were excited about their new routines, they are working hard learning them for an upcoming competition.

I hope you like this little tug, it is nothing to compare with yesterdays shot but nonetheless she is interesting and shows that there is still life on the river albeit greatly reduced from yesteryear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.