curns' corner

By curns

Skew

I went out a bit earlier than recent habits might suggest this morning because a meeting had been dropped in my calendar for 9am.  By the time I was half way around my morning walk it had already dropped out of the calendar again - although it’s been moved to tomorrow which is looking busy. So, I added a few minutes to my walk and routed myself home through Skew Arch.  When PY was doing his local history walk a couple of years ago, I saw pictures that suggested this was originally a road beneath an iron bridge.  I know that, at one time, the arch operated as a single lane road with traffic lights at either end. Today it’s a nice pedestrian path with a mural at one end and one of two pedestrian tunnels that get the residents of Raynes Park under the railway.

As usual when people come back from work breaks lots of scheduled meetings are moved around. At one point my calendar looked like the game Tetris as blocks of time were being moved by people accepting, declining and proposing alternative meeting times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.