curns' corner

By curns

Cocktail celebrations

I was out of the house by 7:45am to catch an earlier than usual train, via Kingston and Twickenham, to Staines. The train I would normally catch 30 minutes later is full of young adults heading off to college or school. I can’t tell which. But a little earlier and the make up of the commuting crowd is different, although people are still keen to occupy two seats, one for themselves, and one for their bags. 

But I have to admit it’s much easier to get a seat at this time. The journey was relatively uneventful, and I had my thermal flask of homemade coffee with me, which I started to drink on the platform at Twickenham while I waited for the change of train. 

I took the train the long way home after work as Mo wasn’t coming into town this evening. When I got home PY immediately suggested that we head out to Mora Meza Bar & Restaurant for some nibbles and a glass of wine as he wanted to talk. It was either going to be good or bad news about the job  and I was delighted when he said he'd offered him the position. I think he wanted to talk about what it would mean as we have both been working at home for most of the last three years and this has had cost-saving advantages.  He wants to do some finance but he seems really excited about using his experience to do something completely different. It’s wonderful news as I think the lack of progress has been depressing. 

We ended up staying for much longer than we had planned, eventually order a Lebanese platter for dinner and a bottle of wine.  It makes me really happy to see him happy, which is probably a good thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.