curns' corner

By curns

Cube

We went out to Sunday lunch at an all you can seat buffet at a  Chinese restaurant in Addlestone with PY’s mum, sister and partners. We met at Woking and were kindly driven to the restaurant. I love a Chinese buffet but it does tend to make you over order which, of course, we did.  There was a very strange rule whereby you couldn’t go backwards on the menu so, once somebody had ordered a main course then all the starter selections were out of bounds.  

I am a big fan of so-called ‘crispy seaweed’ in Chinese restaurants, but I like it as an accompaniment to the main course rather than as a standalone starter.  And so we went through a convoluted ordering process whereby, when we had all finished our starters, we ordered the crispy seaweed and then, as soon as that order had made it was to the kitchen, we ordered the main course.  It’s not clear to me what effort that is saving but it was the kitchen’s policy.

When we got home just after 6pm I thought I’d sort out some of the items that are in a box in my offie space. On e of the items was bought for us a few years ago by PY’s sister: a  Rubik's Cube inspired light. Somewhere I have the charger for it but it’s not with the lamp. Occasionally, when sorting some items out in the house, I come across the charger and remind myself that I ought to put it with the lamp but, for some reason, the two haven’t been together several years.  Today I decided to hunt for the charging cable but with no luck. I am pretty certain it will turn up in a couple of weeks and I must be organised enough to reunite the two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.