curns' corner

By curns

Early pancake

There were two catch-up meetings at work but then nothing else for the recast of the day. As a result, I tinkered with some documentation which I find I can better get to if I am not disturbed every few hours by conference calls.  To that end it was a productive afternoon but also one of those lonelier ones.

I am out every other evening this week and so, although Shrove Tuesday is tomorrow, i decided that we should have pancakes after dinner because otherwise I will miss out. I am not sure if PY is that bothered but I think I would feel something was missing. I made up a small batch of batter before we had our dinner from a recipe that my mum gave me back when I was a student, and I have never felt the need to try any other variant.  

Most people I speak to about pancakes concede that the first one out of the pan is the worst but this year the first one worked really well and set the tone for the remaining five. We did not go crazy with a large quantity and we kept the accompaniments simple; sticking to lemon and sugar.  But, even I have to say so myself, they were really good and I am a little sad that I am not having more tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.