curns' corner

By curns

Book

This is the notebook I use at work. It started with me when I was working for Facebook in 2018.  The first page is dated 26 January 2018 when I appeared to be planing an internal business review for North America/EMEA on 22nd and the same session for APAC on 27th - I assume of the following month. Then there’s a few notes on things but we tended to capture business notes electronically so it's quite empty.  It came with me when I moved jobs. There was an entry on 9th March 2020 and then there’s an enormous gap.  It was one of the items that was left in the office when we went into pandemic lockdowns and I didn’t get it back for 18 months until I retrieved my blue box of belongings.  By that point we were were working at home and I was back using the yellow legal pads and I didn’t return to using this book until I started this job. There’s a day one note from 28 September 2022. It still has some pages for future notes so I thin it is still going strong.

I usually carry it on the days that I am going into the office but I don’t always use it. I thought I might need it today as a colleague was across from our Israeli office but, in the end, the discussions that had been planned didn’t really happen. So, it sat in front of me for most of the day.  I prefer to make notes in a notebook when I am in a face-to-face meeting because I can never get over the feeling that typing while talking to somebody else is intrusive.  Plus, when people do it to me I am always convinced that they are doing other work and not really taking notes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.