curns' corner

By curns

From the sky

After two days in the office, it was agreed that some of the team would meet up again. This time, however, we said we’d meet JB at a co-working space just off Oxford Street.  I was the first to arrive and the staff let me in but I couldn’t find any available space. In the end I opted to start my day upstairs at the Pret A Manager on Eastcastle Street. It’s worth knowing that it has a small, but seemingly quiet, upstairs space and good Wi-Fi.

After we had all gathered and done some work in Spaces we went for a team lunch at Tortilla, round the corner and almost opposite the offices of a former customer.. I have memories of looking out of their windows at this little square of dining venues although I always ended up in a pub around the corner with them.

I made it home with enough time to give myself 30 minutes turnaround before PY and I headed out to the new City Hall in the Royal Docks for the London Ambassadors thank you event. It took well over an hour to get there and quite a few few people had left or were leaving as we got there about 7:30pm (it hard started at 5pm). We caught the end of the music and the karaoke and it was good to see a few people we had met while volunteering. 

After about an hour the event had basically wrapped up and we decided to head home. I don’t recall which of us suggested that we take the cable car, former Emirates Airline, but we did. It was very quiet and we had a car to ourselves.

I am not sure what possessed us. It was, perhaps, bravery from a few glass of wine because the last time I did this I really hated it. I was very uncomfortable with the swinging cable cars and the perceived lack of locks on the doors (they are automatic).  So I wan’t looking forward to it.

Surprisingly, this time, I really enjoyed it and the sights from the sky. This picture is of the continuing building works in the area around the new City Hall.  I would certainly not have seen that from the ground. PY, on the other-hand, was not a big fan this time around. I am not sure what he didn’t like but I think we was relieved to be on the ground and at North Greenwich underground station from where we made our way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.