Body politic

I was having lunch with some friends at a table on a London pavement when cheering and bicycle-bell ringing alerted us to what we assumed was a demonstration. Well it was, but when we looked up we realised it was a little out of the ordinary. This, I later learnt, is a small contingent from the London Naked Bike Ride, part of a worldwide event which aims to highlight the vulnerability of cyclists (I was pleased to see that at least some of them had shoes and helmets on) and the positive effect riding can have on the environment.

(I'm posting it exactly as thousands of amused onlookers saw it on London's streets today so I hope it doesn't offend anyone. It's only bodies.)

It was an irony to come across something so blippable today, as I have been angling for ages for a series of shots from the Oxford to London train and today was the day I'd decided to try to get them. I found a rare train with an openable window and am ever so pleased with some of the views I've got of railway buildings old and new, industry, gas-holders and dereliction. I could have posted at least twenty today. But I'm unlikely to stumble across anything quite like this for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.