The Way I See Things

By JDO

Combative

The Boy Wonder was slightly sub-prime today. We still had a good day with him, with some lovely bits of chat, but he was hot, with no appetite, and it didn't take much to throw him off his stride. I'm happy to report that we have got one thing sorted out though: he told me very firmly this afternoon that its actually blood that comes out of your injured knee (he having tripped and scraped one on the tarmac a little earlier). "I's blood, Grandma. Not flood. Blood. OK?" I'll try to remember that in future.

I took this at Forest Farm this morning, where we went to feed ducks and conduct scientific experiments on acorns. The dragons - only Common Darters and Southern and Migrant Hawkers today - were warm, skittish and combative, and the light as you can see was tricky, but R likes this slightly impressionistic (i.e. imperfectly focused) shot of a Common Darter fiercely defending his territory, and that's enough of a recommendation for me to post it. 

This is also the smallest creature I photographed today, by some margin, and leads me neatly into this week's Tiny Tuesday results. Many thanks to everyone who took part - I've enjoyed looking through all your images this evening.

In no particular order, my hearts this week go to:

DonnaWanna for her enchanted forest.
Sheol for his Common Darter portrait.
JohnW for making a mundane... something... intriguing.
Carolina for her green lurex sweat bee.
isbi for her hairy protea petals.

And I'd like to give Honourable Mentions - again, in no particular order - to:

GoranZebuhr for a pretty hoya.
Ingeborg for a fire bug.
Paola for the sticky droplets of a sundew.
dbifulco for a sharp-tailed bee.
DawnP for a grasshopper.
AnnieBelle for a Yellow Admiral.

I do hope that you'll all play again next Tuesday, when the tag will be TT433.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.