Wisteria and Iris

Took a trip into Horsham today to try and find some connections to my Father's family who lived there in the 1800s. I found their shop - now a Specsavers - and the cottage overlooking the railway line where they last lived before for some reason they moved to Tonbridge in Kent. As for the first address I had from the census, I was excited to see the shops still there ... 9, 11, 13 ... Ah, number 15, where my ancestors lived, was now a pedestrian crossing by a major road :(. Still, it was all very interesting, and I might go back again.

I headed off to nearby Nymans Gardens, a National Trust property, for the afternoon. I normally go in Summer for the glorious borders, so it was strange to see them very much in their infancy. Wandering round the gardens I came across this Wisteria (wonderful scent) underplanted with Iris: a great combination I hope you agree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.