biddy

By biddy

Roses to greet us at home!

For some reason I simply could not sleep very much last night after our journey, We had a nice room for our overnight stay at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth, but sleep eluded me.
I tossed and turned and eventually plugged in my ear phones and listened to a nighttime story on my Calm App,
It didn’t do much good as I fell asleep and then dreamed that the school across the road collapsed before my eyes and I rushed around telling people!
Anyway we made it to see our friends in Horndean on the way home. I always wonder if it will be the last time we see Brian as his health is so fragile.Both he and Doris, now in their 80’s have been like parents and grandparents to so many people, having run a small personal rest home for many years before retiring,
They have 4 children of their own and lots of grandchildren and great children!
Once on our way back up to Sutton Coldfield, we were so thankful to have aircon in the car.
It was 31C when we stopped for a bit of lunch at Sutton Scotney.
And 30C when we got home,
Our friend had done some basic shopping for us and it was ready on our arrival with fresh milk in the fridge,
I went to see if I had lost any of the plants in the week of heat they had suffered here when we were away,
One or two plants just needed a drink, but once again the roses were doing well.
Here is a red one amongst the lavender, looking bright and cheerful, as the bees buzzed all around,
I am beginning to feel very tired.
It also feels odd with it going darker here one hour sooner than France,
I don’t know why we all have to change the clocks!
I think there was a reason for it at some point, which has been forgotten!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.