Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Bubbles

This is a behavior that I've only seen a few times before.  The most likely explanation is that the fly is blowing and inhaling the bubble of liquid to cool itself although I don't think scientists really know for certain.  Anyway, it's kind of cool and, as far as I know, flies are the only insect that does this.  This fly is only about 6 mm (1/4 inch).  Other than some of the syrphid flies I'm woefully ignorant about most flies and have not yet gotten close to identifying this.  I've posted some pics in an entomology group and hoping someone can at least give me a genus for it. 

I also found a new (to me) assassin bug species in the garden and if I can find it again tomorrow, I may have to blip it.  I planted a bunch of native black eyed Susans this year and they are loaded with little predators.  So far, I've found three different assassin bug species on the them as well as several different spiders.  

There are two (maybe 3?) juvenile hummingbirds in the garden today.  And even with three feeders and loads of nectar flowers, they are chasing each other all over the place.  Honestly, you'd think they'd be conserving their energy for the big trip ahead of them!

Jax had an excellent day yesterday and slept like the dead last night.  Honestly, he's been sleeping most of the day too.  

I was doing some research last night and found several apps that will allow me to track the RA pain so that I can start understanding what triggers it.  Several of the apps automatically load the current weather and barometric pressure which would be very helpful as weather is a trigger for some people.  It would be up to me to track sleep, food, stress.  I think it would be worthwhile at least until I can get a handle on what triggers flares for me.  Plus, it makes me feel like I'm doing something proactive.  

No bear sighting today (yet) so that's a positive.  And the propane company who we lease our tank from came out and marked exactly where it is so that when the fence contractor is here installing the fence he doesn't blow us all up.  

Plain dark today.

xo
Debbi



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.