The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Brother Jimmy

Jimmy Buffet passed this last week and this morning I spent my ukulele practice time playing some of his "songs you know by heart" and, for good measure, threw in one I wrote a bunch of years ago when a buddy and I had attended his "Labor Day Weekend show" in New England. 

Brother Jimmy


Hey brother Jimmy, sing me a song, 
A tropical ditty don't need to be long,
A song about fishing and boats on the sea,
A song about dreamers like me. 
With a verse about burgers, a rum and a Coke,
A chorus about pirates and something to smoke, 
Put em all together makes a helluva brew, 
For dreamers like me and pickers like you. 

Born in the Northland, stuck in the snow, 
A nine to five job with nowhere to go but singing Margarittaville makes me feel fine,
Lessons in rhythm and rhyme.
Playing a twelve string with three busted strings,
A man can imagine some incredible things, 
Sung to the tune of Corona and lime,
It's never too late to make up for lost time,

So hey Brother Jimmy sing me a song, 
A tropical ditty don't need to be long  
a song about fishing and boats on the sea, 
a song about dreamers like me, 
With a verse about burgers, a rum and a coke, 
A  chorus about pirates and something to smoke ,
Put em all together makes a helluva brew, 
for dreamers like me and pickers like you  .... for pickers like me and dreamers ... dreamers like you.

... fair winds and a following sea BrotherJimmy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.