Ona's Photos

By Ona

A folky day

Not home on the same day that I left it so this is my first back blip if only by just under an hour. I have had a packed Saturday, visiting a friend from work and his gorgeous little girl who is never still, followed by the rest of the day - and night - at Southwell Folk Festival, including watching a friend's husband's Morris troupe. Strictly speaking this should be a shot of them - Poacher Morris - but I didn't do them justice in any shots that I'd taken so this is of members of Golden Star watching Poacher.

It is definitely more about the music for me and we have seen a full range from a beat boxing harmonica player to two Irish sisters with fantastic harmonies. The highlight though was Roddy Woomble who sang beautifully and was accompanied by a fab fiddle player.

A strange - but very enjoyable - day all in all which started with me plastering myself in Factor 50 and ended with me wearing four layers sat in a big blue marquee with a blanket on my knees! Although not quite as bizarre as the two women I saw knitting whilst they listened to the music or the woman slowly reversing her mobility scooter up the middle of the marquee right in the middle of one of the sets. I suppose we should just be grateful she didn't have a reversing alarm on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.