paperTIGER

By papertiger

Let the Right One In.

Real love is to offer your life at the feet of another.

-- John Ajvide Lindqvist, Let the Right One In


A full on day. Early start. Three back-to-back rehearsals, and I was so hoarse by mid-way through that I wasn't sure that I would make it to the end. You know when you've been working at such a pace that your whole chest hurts? Well, it was like that. I told one 6 year old about my sore throat and so she gently tapped my neck, saying Awwww! It didn't help my voice, but it did make my heart hurt a little too, bless!

I certainly didn't think I would last until this evening for our Press night at the Rep for the National Theatre of Scotland's Let the Right One In, but I'm glad I did. It was heart-breaking, stomach-churning, tender, exquisite stuff. Completely stunning with its soaring music and striking set. The one draw back was that I was right at the front - great for some sections, but other parts I couldn't see at all ... and perhaps a little too close to all the 'blood' which was a bit gruesome at times. I'll definitely get to see it again though, before the run is over, and hopefully I'll get a seat towards the middle next time. It had such filmic qualities that I think you can miss the impact of the full stage, and especially the beauty of the movement sequences, when you are sitting that close.

One of the truly great things about it, certainly in terms of the kind of work that I do, was that the leading actor is fresh out of youth theatres in Glasgow, and his performance was completely captivating. I think this says so much about the quality training that a great youth theatre can provide. I also remember one of the other lads participated in a youth theatre project I ran as part of my Masters about 5 years ago. He was still at school then, with limited access to drama, but he wanted to be an actor ... and look at him now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.