A day in the life

By Shelling

The perfect day-day

We've just experienced the most perfect day. The plan was simply to make a round trip on a part of my island to show my visitors some of my highlight places. We woke up to a totally clear day with not a breath of wind, for the first time this year we had breakfast outside in a temperature of a pleasant 20 degrees. We drove north, eventually following an ancient coastal road on the islands west side, with a view over the sound (main blip) between Öland and the mainland, passing interesting old limestone-quarries and beautiful sceneries on our way toward a fish restaurant by the seaside with excellent food.

On the way home we went to the east coast of the island, bought a cake and visited two of my old friends to share the cake and some afternoon tea. We bought some cheese-cake on the way that we had at the beautiful sunset on my veranda. A day like this is so rare and my guests were duly impressed with everything and very happy about the journey. It was so nice they could connect with my friends here too, it makes my life here more real to them and makes us share a common ground when we meet next time. A blessed day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.