Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hummie Wars

Surprisingly, there were at least 5 hummingbirds in the garden today.  I suspect that stormy weather has created a bit of a bottleneck with the migratory birds.  Anyway, we have plenty of provisions and all migrants welcome!  This is a juvenile male and if you look closely you will see a single ruby feather on his throat - promises of things to come.

Had a nice FT chat with my parents this morning - they're both looking well and were headed out for a walk later today, taking advantage of lovely weather in the Portland area.  While here in NJ, we dodged showers.

I was able to release 2 monarchs today, in memory of two siblings who are gone but still missed and loved.  I have one more who emerged late and I will release him tomorrow.

And I discovered another great big Praying Mantis in the garden - I came across her leisurely eating a bumble bee.  She's parked herself right next to a big patch of anise hyssop and if I move her, she's likely to end up someplace even worse, so I will leave her where she is.  But I will be trying to keep track of her whereabouts!  

I've had quite a bit of RA pain the last three days, today being the worst.  I think what I can conclude from this is that weather triggers pain for me, specifically rain.  I'm not sure what I will do with this knowledge since I can't really avoid weather, but at least I am starting to learn more about my condition.  I found an app I think will work for tracking pain and food, weather, etc - over time I should have a good handle on what it likely to trigger a flare up.

And because ginger is an anti-inflamatory, I think I'll have some in my dark chocolate today. 

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.