Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Across the water ….

An afternoon stroll in RSPB Conwy sees me walking a little further than I have of late. For the first time in ages I make it as far as the Carneddau Hide where I sit and gaze across the lagoons. Last night’s stillness continues, even if the sunlight’s gone for now.  A little grebe skitters along before coming to a standstill, and a pair of swans, heads down in the water, feed further out. 

I’m hoping for a bird to swim across the still green reflections closer in, but nothing moves. Then, far across the lagoon, towards the estuary, a movement catches my eye; three Carneddau ponies.  

It’s ages since I’ve seen the reserve’s resident ponies, and I’ve never seen them here before. I watch them graze at the water’s edge, slowly making their way along a narrow spit of land that juts out into the lagoon, their movement backed by the orange-russet spikes of bog asphodel.  

Tired by this slightly longer walk, but uplifted - as always - by ‘my’ ponies, it’s home to rest and watch the rugby. Mind you, neither game is easy viewing. Scotland fight bravely against South Africa, but the victory is never really in doubt. And then it’s Wales against our recent nemesis - Fiji. Thankfully, Wales play with courage and determination - as do Fiji. Facing Polynesian giants, we can only marvel at the Welsh resistance. The last twenty minutes provide  agonising viewing; we come so close to throwing victory away. We imagine the bitter disappointment in the little island villages we visited five years ago where we bonded with the men over our shared love of rugby. Fijians are just as passionate as the Welsh over this game.

Many thanks for your lovely comments, stars and hearts in response to yesterday’s ‘Floating’ - so much appreciated. Today’s main is, of course, the Carneddau ponies grazing by the side of  the lagoon, with a wider view in extras. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.