PandaPics

By pandammonium

Rice cake

Sainsbury’s was selling their last bag of rice flour off cheap, so I bought it, thinking I’d make the rice cake my mam used to make.

I asked her for the recipe. She sent a me photo of it. It’s from the Be-Ro book, with old-fashioned oven temperatures. ‘Moderate oven’ indeed. Mam converted it to gas, and I converted the gas to electric then to fan. Luckily, I’ve cooked with all three types of oven, so I can do that.

Anyway, I made a vegan version of it today. The egg replacer I used didn’t seem to do its job because it didn’t rise well, although there were air bubbles in it. It was quite solid, almost rubbery, but it tastes nice. Mr Pandammonium didn’t not like it. Work to be done with this conversion.

That’s fine – it took a while to finesse my mam’s chocolate cake recipe.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.