PandaPics

By pandammonium

Running

Yesterday’s group run was postponed to today, which meant I could go, even if no one else could. I met the run leader, and we set off.

It was getting dark, and it was trying to rain, but at least it wasn’t boiling. It was actually quite pleasant for the first time in ages.

What wasn’t pleasant was the group of boys that we passed when we were walking for a while because I’m so unfit now.

‘You should be running,’ said one chubby boy-brat.

I don’t normally respond to such imbecility, but that filled up the imbecile-tolerance meter, so my mouth said ‘You should be running.’

That garnered some sort of long-winded response that was washed away by the rain into the gutter, where it belongs.

We walked on a bit more, then started running again, resuming our conversation as we went.

It was a lovely run, by which I mean I enjoyed being out in the refreshing rain, which was bliss compared to the boiling days of late, and I enjoyed the company.

Back home, Mr Perkins was waiting for me on the drive. We went inside only when he was sure everything outside was as it should be – sentry duty doesn’t stop just because it’s rainy!

Once I was showered, in my pyjamas and back on the sofa where I belong, I felt glad that I’d gone out running. Running is great when you’ve finished.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.