MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Ivy Visitors 11

Top of the ivy league today, the central image, is something gross. It was a real OMG moment for me when I spotted it. A strange fly with striped eyes, that I have never seen before, had about six writhing mites attached to the underneath of its abdomen and, what looked to me like, a few more bright eggs on its flanks. The mites have pincers a bit like pseudoscorpions. I haven't been able to identify them or the fly.

More flies today including a couple of different hoverflies, two tiny flies caught in a web and a green bottle which is prey to a Nigma walckenaeri spider. The fluffy thing is probably some sort of cocoon. The bloom surrounded by haws is on the small ivy bush in our hedge.

PS I think the fly is a locust blowfly and the mites could be pseudoscorpions. I've read that these venomous arachnids hitch lifts on other invertebrates to get about. 

PPS This is known as phoretic behaviour - hitching a lift by clinging on to a flying insect.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.