Wisdom Begins In Wonder

By bobzilla

The only shade in town

First meeting for job wasn’t until 31st so had another free day.
Went for a wander around the site. Got a shuttle bus to the far end of the site and walked back using the shade tunnels. Some of them didn’t grow that much but the ones that looked like loofahs grew really well. It was a tough walk but I managed it as far as the Hq/hospital building so stopped there. Got talking to some Aussie and Swedish IST members when the Black Eagles display team flew overhead and started a show. Got onto badge swaps and I’d left mine at camp but the Swedish girl had a regional badge that I need to track down. It looked like the Scottish royal banner or the Smaland flag without the crossbow.
Managed to pick up a tent on the way back to the campsite and got it put up before I got too hot. I felt it was more important to get the tent put up than to drag pallets across the subcamp by myself as I’d get help doing that later.
Someone put a rain warning in the crews WhatsApp chat but I’d already went for dinner.
Came out of the canteen and felt a few drops of rain start. By the time I got back to the tents at a brisk walk it was chucking it down and I was soaked through. Grabbed a pallet that had been abandoned whilst being used as a bridge over the drainage ditch and started trying to salvage my tent. By the time I got the pallets down the campsite was already at least 3 inches under water. Scott arrived just as I was dragging my tent into the pallets so he gave me hand. Somehow it didn’t flood (new tent luck?) and the rain stopped as quickly as it started. By this point folk had came back to the tents and were digging more ditches to try and drain the flood waters away. That was going to be a common theme over the next few days.
Next up was the IST Opening Ceremony. In a flooded field. In the dark. Whilst still soaking wet. The problem with a place with lots of non-flying biting beasties as that when it floods they all go to the highest place they can find which in a field of people is the people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.