Wisdom Begins In Wonder

By bobzilla

To sleep. Perchance to dream

31st July

No pic from the day before. Basically the meeting for my job on-site was just after lunchtime so had stood standing in the sun waiting in the shuttle buses to get half way across the site during the hottest part of the day. Then sat exhausted during the meeting chewing on ice. Tried to catch the bus back afterwards and didn’t realise where the closest bus stop was so ended up walking back to my tent via the shade tunnels. Not a single bus went past so made it back quicker despite walking at a snails pace. Went for a 30 minute freezing cold shower to cool down and on then way back to my tent bumped into Jonny who realised something was wrong and got me to the first aid clinic. I had a temp of 39.4C AFTER that long cold shower. Eventually got moved to the on-site hospital where a doctor said very scary things to me. Basically the very nice paramedic thought I’d had a stroke because I’d been slowing my speech down to be understood and the confusion from overheating was making my dyslexia and word choice worse. So spent a few hours there frantically trying to work out a way to call the insurers in case I needed them whilst having a data only sim for my phone. Eventually got let out after the doctors finished their shift (the hospital wasn’t technically open at this point) and I was able to prove that I was hydrated enough to pee for Scotland at the olympics.

1st august
I had the day off from work but was wiped after the previous night’s entertainment so spent the day trying to sleep in the staff hub. This was the coolest place we had access to through the day at this point and even then that was only whilst the fans were working. Constant noise from people talking, playing music on portable speakers and even the yoga lady shouting over the pa for her classes that ran throughout. But people slept here because it was cooler than their tents. Someone checked and found s their tents reached low 60s by 9am so this was a fridge in comparison. I have very little memory of this day…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.