Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Ironbridge - Start of the Walk

A bit of an epic walk today.  Starting in Ironbridge at sunrise, in mist/fog, I was intending to follow the Severn Way to Shrewsbury.  Depending on whether I followed the whole route, it was going to be a 20 plus mile trek.  I've often photographed this famous bridge, but probably hadn't seen this combination of colours before.

This time I put on my walking boots and after a few miles I was confident that they were properly waterproof, despite my trousers being sodden from walking through the abundant vegetation that lined the route.  There was a lot of road work and for much of the route I was away from the banks of the river.  It was only as I arrived into the outskirts of Shrewsbury that the path stuck resolutely to the river bank; it meant that even though as the crow flies I was only a mile from the finish, I still had 6 miles to go.

I carried the drone with me and put it up before the mist burnt back.  The extra is from the river at Buildwas, looking towards the Wrekin.

I decided to treat myself to a burger from an establishment called the Beefy Boys, recently featured on Tom Kerridge's documentary on the state of hospitality.  One of the founders was working in the kitchen as I waited for my meal.

Finally, I headed down to the bus station to catch the 96 back to the beginning of the walk.  The total mileage walked was 22 miles, possibly the longest walk I've undertaken in recent years.  I felt I needed to do this section now, while conditions were good and there was plenty of daylight.  I will attempt other sections when I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.