Combi31

By Combi31

Common Darter

You've just got to see this one BIGGER.
Common Darter, Sympetrum striolatum

It was one of those days, get closer girls, I'm sure you will understand me ... I just didn't know what to wear ...
One minute it was bucketing it down, like a very rainy day in Rainsville - it wasn't cold just very wet, then the clouds parted and the sun just burnt ... steam rising on the roads and paths - didn't know whether to wear a tee-shirt or a drizabone ...

Earlier I had gone to the recycling centre to dump a trailer full of rubbish, including two bikes my son had buggered up repaired, and met, what is probably the most disagreeable man in France ...
The centre is open on Sunday ... shock, horror, probe ... in France!! Yes, you read it right!
I arrived at 12h30 and Mr Nasty - who is to recycling centers, what Kubla Khan was to humanitarian action, snarled that I'd better hurry up as he closes in ten minutes.

Now, call me difficult if you will, but I just can't resist an opportunity to wind up little despots like him, pointing to the sign I suggested that he meant 30 minutes - he huffed and puffed and demanded to which commune I belonged to - I told him, on which he demanded proof - I got out my insurance docs, to which he deflated by about 7 bars of pressure.

He then ran to his office as the rain pelted down, shouting out orders to people who were dumping rubbish recycling, in which bins to throw each different material - "Iron, in N°2, Wood, N°5 ... etc.", he shouted, surveying the expanse of his empire from his little shed.

He then ran out and inspected my trailer - gave a huge Gallic shrug, shook his head whilst blowing out a long whistle - "we don't take that" he said, pointing to an old scooter tyre in the trailer.
"Oh, that's Ok," I said pleasantly, I'll just dump it in a ditch on the way home".
"You can't do that" he said excitedly, as if I had just suggested that he continue working until 12h05.
"Oh, why not" I said, "Everyone else does it". Waving him goodbye and wishing him a pleasant afternoon.

He just stood there, hands on hips - not really believing what he had just heard.

Of course I won't really dump it in a ditch ... silly little man.

Anyway, cabin fever forced me out - to be taunted by golden orioles - if I had my big lens I could have got some great pics ... I don't take this personally, but I'm sure they knew I had a macro lens ... grrrr.

I also had a look at the buzzards nest that I blipped a couple of months ago - it seems that there are two chicks just about ready to fledge - I had no binoculars ... in fact, I have no binoculars, maybe I should invest in a pair - if Chris Packham has some, it must be the done thing.

So I put on my big Berghaus waterproof jacket and went hunting for interesting insects and also had a look to see, if, by chance, the ospreys were still around - I didn't see them ...

As soon as I was 5 minutes from the car, the sky turned blue and the sun beat down - the Berghaus sauna works very well, I'm pleased to report.
It was a nice walk with lots of insects going about their day in the warm sun.

I hope you have had a lovely relaxing Sunday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.